Thursday, February 28, 2008

BLUE OYSTER CULT: (1994) Cult Classic

Perhaps recognizing Columbia Records' failure to release a proper greatest hits album, Blue Öyster Cult re-recorded its best-known material on this collection, which was tied into the broadcast of a TV mini-series version of Stephen King's The Stand, a horror novel that had mentioned BÖC's hit "(Don't Fear) the Reaper." The selection of songs here is good, and the current edition of BÖC (original members Eric Bloom, Allen Lanier, and Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser, plus replacement members Chuck Burgi and Jon Rogers) re-creates the original recordings closely. But they are re-recordings. (The album contains 12 tracks, plus extra performances of "[Don't Fear] the Reaper" and "Godzilla" in so-called "TV mixes" -- i.e., without vocals). --- by William Ruhlmann, AMG

1. Don't Fear the Reaper
2. E.T.I.
3. M.E. 262
4. This Ain't the Summer of Love
5. Burning for You
6. O.D.'d On Life Itself
7. Flaming Telepaths
8. Godzilla
9. Astronomy
10. Cities on Flame with Rock'n' Roll
11. Harvester of Eyes
12. Buck's Boogie
13. Don't Fear the Reaper
14. Godzilla

pw -- heavymetalbreed

No comments: