Thursday, February 28, 2008

BLUE OYSTER CULT: (1998) Heaven Forbid

Blue Öyster Cult prove that ten years sometimes doesn't account for all that much on Heaven Forbid, their first new studio album in a decade. Essentially, the group's sound has remained the same, with the same crunching power chords and sci-fi/horror lyrics that characterized their best songs. While the band sounds surprisingly muscular and powerful throughout Heaven Forbid, the material is below par, lacking memorable hooks or melodies. Still, some longtime fans might find the very fact that BÖC is back and rocking harder then expected reassuring, and that may be reason enough to check out Heaven Forbid. --- by Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG

1. see you in black
2. harvest moon
3. power underneath dispair
4. x-ray eyes
5. hammer back
6. damaged
7. cold gray light of dawn
8. real world
9. live for me
10. still burnin'
11. in thee

pw -- heavymetalbreed

No comments: