Sunday, September 21, 2008

Ayreon - Into the Electric Castle A Space Opera

Into the Electric Castle is an epic prog rock opera from Dutch guitarist Arjen Lucassen. The sci-fi story centers around eight strangers brought together into a dimension of no space and no time. The characters in the story are played by varying lead singers, including former Marillion frontman Fish. The supporting cast is a who's who of proggers, which translates into superb musicianship. The story is standard sci-fi fare, but winds up being quite effective with the accompanying score. The massive coordination of such a large project is admirable, but to pull it off with such impressive resultsmore… is stunning. There are some moments that work better than others, but in sum this an energetic, fun, and original recording. There is a plethora of styles incorporated here, including progressive rock, progressive metal, neo-prog, fusion, space rock, jazz, folk, and classical. This campy classic helped to spawn a devout cult following for Ayreon and the man behind the music, Arjen Lucassen.

Disc 1
1. Welcome to The New Dimension
2. Isis and Osiris
3. Amazing Flight
4. Time Beyond Time
5. The Decision Tree (We're Alive)
6. Tunnel of Light
7. Across the Rainbow Bridge

Disc 2
1. The Garden of Emotions
2. Valley of the Queens
3. The Castle Hall
4. Tower of Hope
5. Cosmic Fusion
6. The Mirror Maze
7. Evil Devolution
8. The Two Gates
9. Forever's of the Stars
10. Another Time, Another Space

.. Year: 1998
.. Label: Transmission Recs.
.. Country: Netherlands
.. Bitrate: 192 kbps
.. Home-Page:
.. MySpace:
.. BUY ME: (Amazon)

[[[ pass - hmbreed ]]]

No comments: