Wednesday, April 4, 2012

HeKz: (2012) Tabula Rasa (Released 6 April 2012)

"These Bedford boys aren't afraid to take the inspiration of Iron Maiden and the rationale of Dream Theater and make the combination work of them. Still very young, they've already got a formidable live reputation." (Prog Magazine, UK)

Storming out of England with all of the bombast and bravado of their heroes comes HerKz! Fresh from recording their self-financed, self-produced debut album 'TABULA RASA", the boys from Bedfordshire are ready to unleash their refreshing take on progressive metal onto the international metal scene.
'TABULA RASA' see HeKz following in the footsteps of Prog Metal's founding fathers Queensryche, Fate's Warning & Psychotic Waltz. Whilst taking influence in equal parts from Heavy Metal legends and Prog Rock luminaries, mixing powerhouse vocals and commendable fretboard acrobatics with supportive orchestrations and exotic time signatures, HeKz manage always put the song first. The 10 tracks on their debut album demonstrate this aptitude for songwriting, with lyrical themes ranging from smart and scathing social commentary, to rhapsodic and evocative fantasy.
The band's debut is a proudly ambitious album made all the more exceptional by the tender age of its creators. Between the theatrical, Dickinson-esque voice of Matt Young (22), the duelling guitars of Tom Smith (22) and Al Beveridge (21) and the effortless precision and flair of drummer Kirk Brandham (26), you could be forgiven for thinking you're listening to a much older group of musicians.
Haveing received recognition on their home soil by way of positive reviews in press, both online and in print, support slots with Tyr and 3 Inches Of Blood and their inclusion on the bill of the 2010 Bloodstock Open Air Festival, HeKz have their eyes set firmly forwards with the drive and determination to take 'TABULA RASA' to the masses. A tall order, but if their debut gives any indication about what the future holds for HeKz, it is by no means out of their reach.

Track Listing
1.Poison Pen // 2.Bring The Fire // 3.Darkness Visible // 4.As Rome Burns // 5.City Of Lost Children // 6.Vendetta // 7.Hashashiyyin // 8.Seize the Day // 9.A Pound Of Flesh // 10.Don't Turn Back.

- Matt Young: Lead and Backing vocals, Bass guitar
- Tom Smith: Lead and Rhythm Guitars
- Kirk Brandham: Drums and Percussion
- Al Beveridge: Lead and Rhythm Guitars, Keyboards

CREDITS: All songs written by HeKz. Recorded at Outhouse Studios, Reading.
Produced by HeKz.
Engineered by Ben Humphries and James Billinge. Mixed and Mastered by John Mitchell. Artwork by Filip Leu (

**Heavy Metal Breed quote: I listened the sound clips and I think this band is great you can give a try on the sound clips at
We have a policy that not share any 2012 album. You can listen and if you like please support the band and buy the album.


Matt Young
(HeKz Manager/Booking Agent)
T: 07952 942935

OFFICIAL WEBSITES: (Facebook) (Youtube Channel)

No comments: