Saturday, October 1, 2011

KATATONIA - Jhva Elohim Meth... The Revival (1992)

by Eduardo Rivadavia
Although already active in one shape or another since 1987, Sweden's up-and-coming Katatonia were condensed to a duo of vocalist/drummer Jonas "Lord Seth" Renkse and guitarist/bassist Anders "Blackheim" Nyström at the time of 1992's Jhva Elohim Meth...The Revival. Essentially their first demo of a year previous now made commercially available, its five tracks (two of them, "Midwinter Gates" and "Crimson Tears," bookending atmospheric instrumentals) showed great maturity as compared to the group's only slightly more established doom/death counterparts in England: the unholy trinity of Anathema, My Dying Bride, and Paradise Lost. Indeed, "Without God," "Palace of Frost," and "The Northern Silence" were all leaden of pace and sorrowful of tone, with memorable melodies and riffs that instantly secured Katatonia their contender status in anticipation of their acclaimed Dance of December Souls debut album the following year. [Jhva Elohim Meth...The Revival was later included in 2004's Brave Yester Days collection.]

1.Midwinter Gates (Prologue)
2.Without God
3.Palace of Frost
4.The Northern Silence
5.Crimson Tears (Epilogue)

Home Page-
password- hmb

No comments: