Wednesday, March 5, 2008

BLUE OYSTER CULT: (1995) Workshop Of the Telescope (DCD)

Blue Öyster Cult was long in need of a thorough career retrospective, and this is it. Thirty-two tracks filling up two discs with a total running time of 154:46, Workshop of the Telescopes traces BÖC through 14 years as the kings of lite metal, 1972-1986. Actually, as annotator Arthur Levy notes, there are at least two phases in that era. The first, running through 1974, includes the classic first two albums, Blue Öyster Cult and Tyranny and Mutation, when BÖC was one of the few acts in those pre-punk days bucking the trend toward soft rock without indulging in the more grotesque aspects of heavy metal. This material takes up disc one. Disc two leads off with "(Don't Fear) The Reaper," which launched the second phase of the band's career, when it sought to balance its hard-rocking approach (heard especially in concert) with pop accessibility. Since this period was marked by uneven material, it is ripe for compiling, and the selection here is good. On the whole, Workshop of the Telescopes lives up to Levy's description of it as "the ultimate BÖC anthology." It's about time. --- by William Ruhlmann, AMG

tracks (CD--1)
1. Cities on Flame with Rock'n' Roll
2. Transamaniacon MC
3. Before the Kiss, A Redcap
4. Stairway to the Stars
5. Buck's Boogie
6. Workshop of the Telescopes
7. The Red and the Black
8. Seven Screaming Diz-Busters
9. Career of Evil
10. Flaming Telepaths
11. Astronomy
12. Subhuman
13. Harvester of the Eyes
14. M.E. 262
15. Born to Be Wild
(CD -- 2)
1. Don't Fear the Reaper
2. This Ain't the Summer Of Love
3. E.T.I.
4. Godzilla
5. Goin' Through the Motions
6. Golden Age of Leather
7. Kick Out The Jams
8. We Gotta Get Out of this Place
9. In Thee
10. The Marshall Plan
11. Veteran of the Psychic Wars
12. Burnin' for You
13. Dominance and Submission
14. Take Me Away
15. Shooting Shark
16. Dancin' In The Ruins
17. Perfect Water

pw -- heavymetalbreed

No comments: