Saturday, June 2, 2007

TRIUMPH: (1996) King Biscuit Flower Hour (In Concert)

Triumph has typically been dismissed over the years as being a toothless and lyrically inane rip-off of Rush, with bits of Survivor and Spinal Tap thrown in for good measure. This may be a bit unfair, for Triumph does have their niche, and even detractors have to admit the considerable guitar talent of Rik Emmett, which is evident on this gig recorded during their Allied Forces tour. Songs from that album, as well as several earlier numbers, are given brisk and unadorned readings by the band. Parts of the show do sound dated, such as the drum solo, but this shouldn't be surprising based on the 1981 recording date. All in all, this is a worthwhile release for fans, although beginners may be better served by the career-spanning live release Stages... by Brian Downing

1. Tear the roof off
2. American girls
3. Lay it on the line
4. Allied forces
5. Fight the good fight
6. Blinding light show/Moonchild
7. Rock'n' roll machine
8. I live for the weekend
9. Nature's child
10. Drum solo
11. Instrumental
12. Rocky mountain way
13. Hot time in the city tonight

D-load album :-)
(( pw = heavymetalbreed ))

No comments: